Weekly photo challenge: phoneography – my neighbourhood

I’m late! I’m late! For a not very important date.

But better late than never and how could I resist posting photos of where I live from darling HalPhone?

Said darling HalPhone and darling Hal Laptop refused to speak to each other earlier today when I was trying to upload the photos, but that’s Hals for you.

Hal, for those Windows peeps out there, is Apple, ie thinks for itself and does what it wants, whether it is iPhone, laptop or desktop. They are all Hal. Sometimes I am surprised I am allowed to key in the words. In fact, this last week, HalPhone clearly wasn’t happy as he kept moving my text around the screen trying to make me look stupid when I was sending emails. Little imp.

I always say we live ten minutes walk from the beach. It is probably fifteen really, although with a spurt it could be done in ten. However the round trip takes around 40 minutes in winter, depending on who we stop to chat to, and around an hour in summer.

It’s certainly near enough to walk to with a towel to go for a swim. In our village, people tend to vary between the ones who walk down there, and the ones who drive because they are on safari and take enough equipment for a three week exped in Morocco.

In Ye Olden Dayes, I suppose this would have been a fishing hamlet. It’s still part of our pueblo, just happens to be down the beach. And the one good thing about not living down the beach is that you always have somewhere nice to walk to. Imagine living down the beach and saying ‘Shall we walk into the village?’ I don’t think so. Much nicer to have a lovely destination for a treat.

My barrio. As we say in Spain. I never used the word neighbourhood in the UK, but barrio has a very strong sense in Spain. Or, my pueblo. My neighbours aren’t just the ones up and down the street. People who live in the back of the village in the countryside or down here on the beach all consider ourselves to be neighbours.

So, the coastal part of my neighbourhood.

Let’s see, how many rules have I broken? Too late for the challenge, and I didn’t spell neighbourhood correctly. Ah well. Can’t get everything right in life.

Cameraphone – Hal (iPhone) 3GS. (I think!)

6 comments on “Weekly photo challenge: phoneography – my neighbourhood”

  1. Wow, nice blue DT…….but what else would it be with those gorgeous blue skies πŸ™‚
    I am so envious of you just being able to walk to the beach.
    Ha! I broke the spelling rule too πŸ˜‰
    Hals?……you know you’ve got me at it now too πŸ˜€

    Like

    • Could have been grey I guess, the beach track, the road, the green veg, so blue was a good choice, thank you DT. Although no arty purple/mauve like you had.

      Having been brought up in the West Riding for the first 18 years of my life, I’ve tried to make sure I’ve been coastal ever since. The only one that wasn’t was Leighton Buzzard, but we weren’t there long before we went to sunny old Scarborough.

      I knew you would know what I meant when I mentioned Hals, but I thought I had better add the explanation for people who didn’t know. I should probably have added the reference to the intelligent but rather naughty computer in 2001 – A Space Odyssey for people not old enough to have seen the film!

      When I told another Apple user (American, and also a programmer) that I called my Apples Hal she told me I was really asking for trouble!

      Like

  2. With those skies there could only be blue. Your neighbourhood actual, and the spelling look fine to me πŸ˜‰ I’ve enjoyed viewing this challenge for the peek into a few distant neighbourhoods. You definitely have location, location πŸ™‚

    Like

    • We had some pretty decent weather all week, so it’s going to be tedious if the rest of the my neighbourhood pix all come out blue!

      I’ve not seen a lot of them, which is a shame. Vicky’s is the only one that comes to mind. I was surprised the ‘phone pictures came out so clearly, they don’t always, but I guess that was due to the clarity of the light.

      Our beaches aren’t a patch on those lovely ones up by you at TA, but at least we don’t have to drive to get to them.

      Best beaches down this end are around Tarifa and up the coast from there:

      http://wp.me/p1XwsS-lV (Tarifa the town)

      I must steal the ones from the Landy blog to add on here for a post.

      Like

  3. what a cheerful blue! we had a blue sky today for about 10 minutes. well, maybe a few more. but the skies are nicely grey once again. so this is a real treat. and how lovely to be within walking distance of the beach. lots of beaches here in my corner of the planet, but they are more like a drive rather than a walk away. and although many of them still have free parking, a number of them have now been upgraded to have parking meters. many of my favourites still have free parking. and no complaints intended. just saying πŸ™‚ but you do live in a very lovely corner of the planet, indeed! thanks for sharing.
     
    i changed my title to ‘nearby’ rather than use the alternate spelling of neighbourhood, so i guess i cheated too πŸ™‚ mind you, i seldom use the suggested title for the photo challenges, so i guess i cheat quite frequently πŸ˜€
     
    and i did not know about Hal. i guess that is a movie i missed. the things you learn while blogging! πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Yes, it is very blue, is it not? I get this blue quite a bit with my Spanish pictures I’ve noticed. It must be called Spanish sky blue. I love to be able to walk to the beach/sea, same here in Gib. I think it is important to live somewhere nice, after all, that’s where you spend your life. Not much good living for the two or three week holidays a year to go somewhere nice and not enjoying the other 49/50 weeks.

      I sort of use the title, but usually add a bit more info. Suppose I should have added Spain to this one.

      DIMYG? (Did I make you google?) If not – http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HAL_9000

      I’m not even sure that I’ve seen the full film, it’s also the one that had Also Sprach Zarathustra as theme music. I suspect the few extra years I have on you makes the difference in terms of films!

      Like


Thanks for visiting and if you leave a comment, I usually reply.

