Hollywood wannabees

The code on the back of the photo starts with 63, so I’m guessing that’s when this pic was taken.

I thought it was maybe the Mushroom Country Club or a lodge night but on the right, the board says something about a school, so maybe it was something at either Heckmondwike Grammar School or the Wheelwright.

Either way, definitely not a Methodist reunion as everyone seems to have a drink.

Three couples, with different expressions to the camera.

From the left at the back, Uncle John, a dentist who died pretty young. I liked going to see him, as I got tiny toothbrushes and tiny tubes of toothpaste. Nor did he gouge nasty holes in my teeth like later dentists.

Next, the tall one with a quizzical expression on his face, is my father. I’ll be posting another pic of him in his youth later, but basically we have the same eyes and lips.

Perched on something or other, hopefully not my father’s hand, is Aunty Sheila, Uncle John’s wife. At this point I should say, that none of these are relatives, just the usual, aunty and uncle that you called your parents’ friends. A slightly forced smile there I think from Aunty Sheila.

Bringing up the back row is Uncle Stan. A car salesman (for Ford). I used to be schoolfriends with his daughter who looked exactly like him. I am now thinking not good to look like your fathers….

And in the front, we have, Aunty Audrey. Teacher and wife of Uncle Stan. I said I was friends with their daughter, but actually they had two. Twins, but not identical. One went to my school, the other didn’t as she was disabled, not sure whether it was physical or learning to be honest as I didn’t think about it back then.

I liked the other daughter. It is probably hard having a disabled twin, but not half as hard as being the disabled one. Because our families had known each other for years – at one point – my parents lived a few minutes walk away from them, I just always got on with both twins. Perhaps it was nice for the family, that there was someone who would walk in and not feel out of place talking to a child who was ‘slow’ as I think it was sometimes called back then. I got on with the grandmother too, Nanny May.

Aunty A doesn’t look too happy at all. Despite the gloves, the shiny frock and the fur stole. She looks rather like her mother (Nanny May) but even moreso like the fairy on the Christmas Tree who isn’t the prettiest fairy after all.

Because, and I may be biased, but that prize goes to my mother. Bottom right, glass and fag in hand, and fur stole draped over her knees.

My father seemed to think she looked like Jane Russell. Maybe not quite like her in this photo, but perhaps with a little imagination… And I do have some photos where she is looking a bit more reckless.

Jane Russell in The Outlaw [wiki]

I like this pic of her though (my mother not JR), cigarette and fur stole and all. I think she has a radiant smile and looks totally glamorous. If the photo was 63 that would make her late 30s. Everyone is still emulating the Hollywood of the 50s. And if my mother was vaguely likened to Jane Russell, my father was often likened to John Wayne. Not particularly on this pic, but there are others. Why did people feel the need to say they looked like celebrities (says the woman who repeats that she was likened to Selina Scott).

For me this is a lovely photo with which to remember my mum. I still have those dangling earrings. I had the dress for ages, but never wore it. It was black crepe and had a diamante belt around the middle. At the back there was a slight floating train! It was a serious frock. I never had the complexion or the dark hair to carry it off though. In fact mostly I was too skinny to fit it too.

I may not have inherited my mother’s hair. In this pic hers is permed. It was extremely fine and straight and she had perms until her death!! Mine is curly and thick. But grey hairs she never had. Half a dozen in her late seventies? So far, she seems to have left me that legacy.

Jane Russell died last year, aged 89. Born before my mum, and died after her. Wish my mum had lived to 89.

16 comments on “Hollywood wannabees”

  1. Beautiful photo and thank you for sharing your memories. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  2. I so agree – thanks for sharing. What an elegant moment.
     
    Funny how that happens – my bro takes after my mom (pronounced mum but for some reason always spelled mom) and I after my Dad in looks, and the older we get, the more I see it.
     
    Tough saying good-bye to people. All this time later, sorry to hear about your mum. thankful my mom is still around. She will be 87 at her next birthday.

    Like

  3. What a wonderful description to the photo.
    Your mum really is stunning, with such a beautiful natural smile, she looks far more relaxed than anyone else too.

    I also have a photo of my mum elegantly dressed ready for some ball, with the ‘film star’ pose. It look about the same era.

    Like

  4. […] on by Roughseas over on Every picture tells oneย here is my ‘film star’ […]

    Like

  5. An interesting photograph, so of it’s time but the description of it and your commentary make it more so. Sometimes I wish we could have just one day where we could be ourselves now, or anytime of our choosing, but go back to a time, place, person of the past. Your mother, as well as being beautiful, of all of the group looks most comfortable and engaged with her place there.

    Like

    • I would be interested in the 20s/30s but having said that, even the post war period would be so interesting. The feeling of relief and euphoria, and plenty of money floating around at the time, in the UK at any rate, compared with the Depression. A bit like now with the worldwide recession, might as well call it a Depression.

      Thank you. I never thought of her as beautiful and I doubt she did either. Vanity was NOT approved of in my family. Her make-up was limited to lipstick and occasionally mascara. But she does look extremely chilled on that pic which is why I so like it. She also looks like she was kicking the woman next to her ๐Ÿ˜€

      Like


Thanks for visiting and if you leave a comment, I usually reply.

