The Parthenon

By: roughseasinthemed

Aug 03 2011

Category: Architecture, Greece, Photography

10 Comments

My degree may have been in Ancient and Medieval History and Archaeology – but it didn’t include Greek history. Or at least the options I chose didn’t. Mostly we gazed endlessly at relics of the Roman Empire.

Regardless of that, one of the monuments I was most looking forward to visiting on my world trip was the Parthenon in Athens (Greece).

Built on the Acropolis, it dominates the modern day city of Athens with an aura of serenity, untouchability, and thousands of years of history.

We decided to hike up there one morning in December, and after getting lost loads of times around the bottom of the hill, we eventually found the long and tiring road up to the top.

It is always a disappointment to look forward to something so much – and then – it isn’t what you expect. This wasn’t one of those occasions though and the memory still remains one of the highlights of my world trip.

The Parthenon more than lived up to my expectations, even though it was partly covered in scaffolding. Probably a permanent state of affairs judging by the on-going restoration programme that seems to have kicked off in the early 80s.

If you like piles of old stones and haven’t visited it – do go. And preferably make sure you see the Elgin Marbles in the British Museum too. Two pieces of the jigsaw thousands of miles apart.

I selected this post to be featured on my blog’s page at Photography Blogs.
10 comments on “The Parthenon”

  1. I’ve just changed this blog to wordpress – and – holy shit! I can’t believe how much better this scanned photo looks.

    Like

  2. a brilliant photo, and although i am tempted to use the ‘s’ word – because it really fits – i will stick with brilliant. never made it to athens on my trip through Greece. there were four of us on a roadtrip with Turkey as the ultimate destination, but i do have some fond memories of Greek ruins. There was a short hike in ancient Philippi, and I still remember testing out the accoustics in the old theatre by reciting from memory some Shakepeare’s Macbeth while, thanks to a requirement from one of my former high school teachers. This was not the same one who insisted on the use of ‘his’ even in gender neutral-statements:
     
    The queen, my lord, is dead.
     
    She should have died hereafter;
    There would have been a time for such a word.
    To-morrow, and to-morrow, and to-morrow,
    Creeps in this petty pace from day to day… etc
     
    it turns out the accousics were great, and my travelling companions spread throughout the theatre could hear me. and i found out that knowing some Shakespeare actually came in handy in every day life. who knew!

    Like

  3. Thanks for the story πŸ™‚ – and the comment about the photo. Commenting on my own photo has to be the height of conceit πŸ˜€ but as I said, this photo more than any, looks so much better on here than on Blogger. The difference is amazing. The link is here for interest: http://everypicturetellsone.blogspot.com/2011/08/parthenon.html

    Regarding Greek ruins, there is another one of Mycenae, which is quite nice. Anyway I have categorised them all now so I can now turn my not-a-photogblog into a not-a-travelblog.

    Like

  4. Yes, I do rather like piles of old stones, and your photo is much better than Michael’s. But then, he had me to keep an eye on as well.

    Like

    • Thank you Jo. I’m sure I’ve a picture of that little temple down in the bottom that you included as well, trouble is I don’t know what it was called or anything, so I’ve never published it on here.

      Like

  5. Oh, I haven’t seen this before.
    Great pic, shame about the scaffolding, though it must have paled into insignificance on such an amazing structure.
    Definitely better on WP than Blogger too πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Thanks Vic. It seems to have so much more impact on here. Like your initial Nishita theme, I did like the black background, but DT actually does more for the photo on this one without a doubt.

      Like


Thanks for visiting and if you leave a comment, I usually reply.

